Travel Ban Injunction

On October 17, 2017, a U.S. District Court judge in Hawaii issued a nationwide temporary restraining order against the travel restrictions set forth by President Trump on September 24, 2017. This effectively prevents the implementation and enforcement of the travel ban to individuals from six of the eight designated countries: Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia, and Chad. This does not apply to individuals from North Korea or Venezuela.

That same day, a U.S. District Court judge in Maryland issued a nationwide preliminary injunction prohibiting the enforcement of the travel ban, except for (1) individuals from North Korea and Venezuela, and (2) individuals without a credible claim of a bona fide relationship with a person or entity in the United States.
The U.S. State Department confirmed restrictions on travel have been lifted for nationals of Chad, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, and Yemen. Further, officials will “resume regular processing of visas” for foreign nationals from these countries. All immigrants and nonimmigrants from North Korea, and certain government officials and their families from Venezuela traveling on business or tourist visas are still subject to the ban.